Origin, meaning and distribution of the Bonitz family name

 


The search for the origin and meaning of the "Bonitz" surname was focused on two different approaches so far:
One idea claimed that the name had a meaning in itself and probably was derived from a word of an other language (German, Slavonic, Latin, etc.). The other theory is based on the assumption that Bonitz is an indication of origin, and therefore looks for a location or place of origin which the name refers to.

When looking for a meaning of the name Bonitz, theories as highly imaginative as "bean farmer" or "the good one" were developed. The old German word "bone" is interpreted as "bean, something of little value, something small, low, or inferior". The profession derived from this would mean "bean farmer".
On the other hand, the Latin word "bonus" means "kind(ly), good / well, noble". The last name Bonitz therefore would describe a person with a kind and noble character.
In both cases, the ending "itz" (also "icz") is explained by a local variation due to the Slavonic influences in the region.
However, none of these variants is proven to date, and it was not possible to identify a person whom the description was originally assigned to. As a conclusion, the assumption of a direct meaning of the surname cannot be justified to this day.
Dictionary of American Family Names The Dictionary of American Family Names, Oxford University Press, lists:
" Bonitz, German, nickname of Slavic origin, from boniti 'to scare'. "
This interpretation is also not confirmed so far.

The theory of a name of origin, on the other hand, is supported by various sources.
The "last names encyclopedia" at www.ahnenforschung.net for example contains the listing:
Bonitz => name of origin related to the place name "Ponitz".  First record: de Bonizc (about 1272 A.D.)

This position is also taken by Horst Naumann in his book about last names ("Das große Buch der Familiennamen"): "de Bonizc in 1272".

H. Grünert also indicates in his book "Family names in the Altenburg region" that the Bonitz family name is first mentioned in 1272 as "de Bonizc".
Das große Buch der Familiennamen
The above-mentioned village of Ponitz is located on the small Pleisse river in the Altenburg region. The foundation of the settlement is dated to the time between 900 and 1200 A.D., when the Sorbes (Slavonic settlers) established approximately 300 villages in the Altenburg country.
The first record of the place "Ponicz" is found in a document of 1254.
Regarding the meaning of the village's name, there are again two suppositions: It is a common position that the name is derived from the Slavonic word "poniz" (= to sink, to deepen, degrades, deepens) which refers to the settlement's situation in a dale. Therefore, the name Ponitz is characterized as a landscape name.
Another variant goes back to the Slavonic term for "cultivation" and tries to link the place name to the widespread method of burning down primeval forest in order to convert it to farmland.

All early records mentioning the settlement Ponitz were always associated with the castle of Ponitz. Due to its size, the castle and the accompanying assets were one of the most important castles in the duchy of Saxonia-Altenburg. The castle claimed responsibility for all rulings of the local hereditary and high courts for the parishes of Ponitz, Schönhain, Guteborn, Gosel, Zschöpel, and Dreussen.

The oldest records of Ponitz castle date back to the year 1254. The owners at that time were the masters "of Ponicz". Fridericus de Ponicz is mentioned as a witness to negotiations, concerning the Remse monastery.
1271 A.D. Walther de Ponitz is mentioned.
In 1274 Friedrich of Bonitz donates a mill to the monastery of Crimmitschau.
In 1303 Walther of Ponitz is listed as a member of the Altenburg town council.
1329 A.D. Heinrich of Ponitz and Friedrich Hermann of Ponitz are mentioned.
In 1349 knight Friedrich of Ponitz is described as "proprietor of Ponitz".

About 1365, the family line "of Ponitz" seems to have left the place. The castle was transferred to the Weißenbach ("Wissinbach") family, followed by a family called "Ende". In 1568 the castle was sold to Abraham of Thumbshyrn.

Ever since, the Ponitz (or Bonitz) family name was never again recorded in Ponitz.

Unfortunately, there are very few sources available to prove any occurrence of the Bonitz family name during the 14th and 15th century.

In 1497, Jorg Bonitz is mentioned as owner of the largest property in Kühnhaide. Kühnhaide is located in Saxony at the edge of the ore mountains. Today, Kühnhaide belongs to the city of Zwönitz. It is located about 30 miles south-east of Ponitz.
Starting about 1500 A.D., there are many Bonitz families recorded in Zwönitz, who, in old registers, are often written as Bonitz, Ponitz or Poniz. Later on, the "Bonitz" spelling prevailed.
Since that time, Zwönitz is the place of origin to which almost all modern Bonitz families can be linked.




Today's distribution of Bonitz families in the USA

The surname Bonitz was introduced into the USA by immigration. As a result, there is no clear defined center or place of origin within the U.S. However, it can be noticed that the name is most seen in Pennsylvania. Other occurrences are in Ohio, New York, Wisconsin, California and Florida.
The north-eastern states were originally preferred due to their good farming conditions. More recently, also more sunny locations like Florida or California were added.




Today's distribution of the family name Bonitz in Germany

The family name Bonitz is currently present in various regions of Germany, but there is a clear concentration in Saxony. The city of Chemnitz as well as the surrounding Stollberg county show the most entries.
This map displays the occurrences of Bonitz in Germany, based on public white pages listings of 2002.

Graphic created by Geogen.

Last update of this page: August 01, 2007
© 2000-2018 by Jochen Bonitz

Herkunft, Bedeutung und Verbreitung des Familiennamens Bonitz

 


Die Suche nach der Herkunft und Bedeutung des Familiennamens Bonitz konzentrierte sich bisher auf zwei Ansätze.
Zum einen gab es die Theorie, der Name selbst habe eine Bedeutung in sich und sei evtl. von Worten anderer Sprachen abgeleitet. (Deutsch, Slawisch, Latein, etc.)
Die andere Theorie geht davon aus, dass Bonitz eine Herkunftsbezeichnung sei, und sucht daher nach dem Ort, auf den sich der Name bezieht.

Bei der Suche nach einer Wortbedeutung des Namens Bonitz wurden so phantasievolle Theorien wie "Bohnenbauer" oder "der Gute" entwickelt. Das mittelhochdeutsche "bone" wird als "Bohne, etwas Wertloses, Geringes" gedeutet. Der davon abgeleitete Berufsname würde dann "Bohnenbauer" bedeuten.
Das lateinische "bonus" dagegen bedeutet "gut, gütig". Daher könnte der Nachname eine Person diesen Charakters bezeichnen.
In beiden Fällen wird die Endung "itz" (auch: "icz") auf eine lokale Abwandlung im slawischen Spracheinfluß zurückgeführt.
Keine dieser Varianten ließ sich jedoch bisher schlüssig belegen oder einer konkreten Person zuordnen, die diesen Beinamen erstmalig erhalten hätte. Daher gilt die Vermutung einer direkten Wortbedeutung bis heute als nicht haltbar.
Dictionary of American Family Names Das Dictionary of American Family Names, Oxford University Press, schreibt:
" Bonitz, deutsch, Beiname slavischen Ursprungs, von boniti 'angst machen, erschrecken'. "
Doch auch diese Interpretation ist bis heute nicht belegt.

Die Theorie eines Herkunftsnamens wird dagegen von vielerlei Quellen gestützt.
Das Namenslexikon auf www.ahnenforschung.net enthält beispielsweise den Eintrag:
 Bonitz => Herkunftsname zum Ortsnamen "Ponitz".  Erwähnung: de Bonizc (um 1272)

Diese Auffassung wird auch von Horst Naumann in seinem "Großen Buch der Familiennamen" geteilt.

Auch H. Grünert schreibt in seinem Werk "Die altenburgischen Personennamen", dass der Nachname erstmals im Jahr 1272 als "de Bonizc" erwähnt sei.
Das große Buch der Familiennamen


Der besagte Ort Ponitz liegt an der Pleiße im Altenburger Land. Die Gründung des Ortes wird in der Zeit zwischen 900 und 1200 n.Chr. angenommen, als die Sorben (slawische Siedler) allein im Altenburger Land rund 300 Dörfer anlegten.
Die erste urkundlich belegte Schreibweise "Ponicz" stammt aus der Zeit um 1254.
Zur Bedeutung des Ortsnamens gibt es wiederum zwei Annahmen: Weit verbreitet ist die Variante, dass sich der Name aus dem sorbischen Wort "poniz" (= erniedrigen, vertiefen) ableitet, was auf seine Lage in einer Senke hindeutet. Demnach wäre der Name Ponitz ein Landschaftsname.
Eine andere Variante geht vom slawischen Begriff für "Brandrodung" aus und versucht den Ortsnamen dadurch zu erklären, wie die Waldflächen der Gegend in landwirtschaftliche Nutzflächen umgewandelt wurden.

Der Ort Ponitz wurde schon früh mit dem zugehörigen Schloß Ponitz erwähnt. Aufgrund seiner Größe war das Schloß und das dazu gehörende Rittergut eines der bedeutendsten im Herzogtum Sachsen-Altenburg. Dem Schloß standen die Ober- und Erbgerichte über alle Dörfer des Kirchspiels zu (Ponitz, Schönhain, Guteborn, Gosel, Zschöpel, Dreussen).

Die ältesten Nachrichten von Schloß Ponitz reichen bis ins Jahr 1254 zurück. Die Besitzer waren damals die Herren von Ponicz. Fridericus de Ponicz wird als Zeuge genannt bei einer Verhandlung, das Kloster Remse betreffend.
1271 wird ein Walther von Ponitz erwähnt.
1274 schenkt Friedrich von Bonitz dem Kloster zu Crimmitschau eine Mühle.
1303 ist ein Walther von Ponitz Mitglied des Altenburger Stadtrates.
1329 werden Heinrich von Ponitz und Friedrich Hermann von Ponitz genannt.
1349 Erwähnung von Ritter Friedrich von Ponitz ("gesessen auf Ponitz").

Um 1365 scheint das Geschlecht "von Ponitz" den Ort verlassen zu haben. Das Schloß ging kurze Zeit auf das Geschlecht "derer von Wissinbach" (Weißenbach) über, gefolgt von der Familie "Ende". 1568 verkauft die Familie das Schloß an Abraham von Thumbshyrn.

In Ponitz selbst ist der Familienname Ponitz (oder Bonitz) seit jener Zeit nicht mehr vorgekommen.

Aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert gibt es leider bisher nur wenige Quellen, in denen der Familienname nachzuweisen ist.

1497 wird ein Jorg Bonitz als Besitzer des größten Gutes in Kühnheide erwähnt. Kühnhaide liegt in Sachsen am Rande des Erzgebirges und gehört heute zu Zwönitz. Es liegt etwa 50 km süd-östlich von Ponitz. Die vielen in Zwönitz nachgewiesenen Familien sind gerade in frühen Zeiten als Bonitz, Ponitz oder auch Poniz eingetragen. Später hat sich jedoch Bonitz als Nachname durchgesetzt.
Zwönitz ist seit jener Zeit der Ursprungsort, aus dem fast alle heute bekannten Bonitz Familien stammen.



Heutige Verbreitung des Familiennamens Bonitz in Deutschland

Der Name Bonitz kommte heute in vielen Gegenden Deutschlands vor, hat seine größte Konzentration jedoch in Sachsen in der Stadt Chemnitz sowie im angrenzenden Landkreis Stollberg.
Die nachfolgende Karte zeigt die Namensvorkommen in Deutschland aufgrund der Einträge in Telefonbüchern im Jahr 2002.

Grafik erzeugt von Geogen.




Heutige Verbreitung des Familiennamens Bonitz in den USA

In den USA ist der Name Bonitz durch Einwanderung verbreitet worden. Daher gibt es auch kein festgelegtes Zentrum der Namensvorkommen. Man erkennt jedoch das größte Vorkommen im Bundesstaat Pennsylvania, sowie Häufungen in Ohio, New York, Wisconsin, Californien und Florida. Speziell die Regionen im Nordosten wurden ursprünglich wegen der guten landwirtschaftlichen Bedingungen bevorzugt, die Verbreitung in den Süden ist ein eher moderner Trend.



Seite zuletzt aktualisiert am: 11. Februar 2006
© 2000-2017 by Jochen Bonitz